The School Reunion – Shalini Boland

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

This was my first book from Shalini Boland so I didn’t know what to expect. What I definitively did not expect was that I all I thought I knew about the characters is simply not true.

Chloe is thirty something and recently divorced. This breakup left her with no friends, they all sided with her ex, and a boring job. Then she receives an invitation to a school reunion. That gives her the opportunity to rejoin with two of her former friends and swoon about Nathan Blake, her crush back in the days. She hopes he will show up so that she can catch up on that little spark that was between them. Chloe seems very insecure, her own mother keeps nagging at her for everything she does. And she still things about her ex-husband and his new wife and kid. When the day of the reunion arrives it seems at first that everything will go to plan. But soon everything suddenly is totally different than what I thought.

Chloe is not an easy character but I could feel for her at first. There are also chapters with flashbacks to the time at the school and there is another POV from someone called Dean who got into trouble with a wealthy man he worked for and did not get payed. For quite a while I was irritated by these chapters and could not fit it into Chloe’s storyline. But towards the end everything comes together and left me puzzled. I really did not expect that ending.

Up until half of it I thought this would be a solid 3 Stars review. It was a decent book with an easy to follow story. But after finishing it I must admit that it surprised me and that I underestimated the plot. So I happily give it 4 Stars.

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar