The Lies I Tell – Julie Clark

Bewertung: 5 von 5.

Kat waited ten years for the reappearance of con artist Meg Williams. Kat was then a young aspiring journalist and helped covering the story of a teacher who preyed on his students. Kat figured out that Meg had something to with exposing him and run away with his money. But she made a mistake while making her own investigations and she holds Meg responsible for what happened to her then. Kat thinks that Meg led her run into a situation without caring if she gets hurt. So she set a google alert with her name. When Meg turns up as a real estate agent Kat knows that she is up to perform her next scam. And she is determined to expose her.

Last year I read Clark’s “The Last Flight” and loved it. I was surprised how complex and multilayered the story was. So my expectations for her next book were high. I was not disappointed. Quite the opposite. I loved it and after reading so many mediocre books lately I devoured it almost in one sitting. Here we have two strong female characters and I equally enjoyed their alternating chapters. I have a thing for con artists at the moment so this book was right up my alley and Clark’s writing kept me glued to the pages. I think I have a new favorite author.

I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar