Watching Edie – Camilly Way

Watching EdieWatching Edie by Camilla Way
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book was on my wishlist as soon as I heard about it. Unfortunately my wish for an ARC from NetGalley was declined so I had to wait until it was released. Then I thought it to be quite expensive. So I waited and waited with the purchase. But recently I got an amazon gift voucher and so I finally got it. And read it immediately.

I read “The Dead of Summer” from Camilla Way years ago and I absolutely loved it. I recommended it to everyone I know. But obviously my expectations for this book were too high. I have read so many reviews about it from bloggers I follow and rely on for their opinion. Unfortunately this book turned out to be a disappointment to me. Almost immediately I was bored. I missed the pace. I was annoyed by Edie’s depression after giving birth to her daughter. I know that is not fair, but I just could not stand reading about it for pages and pages. I found it quite boring. I was waiting for the twists and turns everybody raved about. But I could not find them. The end was exactly as I thought it would be. I think it is very easy to see who the victim here is. One of the girls is so different in the “Before” and “After” that it was really no surprise how everything turned out.

Maybe I read too much psychological thrillers which promise twists and turns. Or maybe I just was expecting too much. Maybe it’s both. So it was just an average book for me and I can only give 3 stars.

View all my reviews

Kommentar verfassen

