Catherine Ryan Howard – Distress Signals

rRezension:

Distress Signals - Catherine Ryan Howard

Adam and Sarah are together for 10 years. Sarah earns the money so Adam can live his dream to become a writer. Now it seems his dream came true. He sold a script to Hollywood. He is expecting his own earned money soon. But he has to rewrite it completely. He plans to do so while Sarah is away on a business trip to Barcelona. But as soon as Sarah arrived in Spain, he got problems to contact her. His distress about that grows when he learns that Sarah’s parents don’t know about that trip. When they called her office they were told that Sarah called in sick. Adam is extremely worried. Soon he finds out what Sarah was about to do. Sarah also does not return on her flight back home. Where is she and why is she hiding?

This was just an exceptional read. I was hooked from the beginning. The blurb was very promising but I did not expect such a complex and unusual story. I was immediately with Adam and his search for Sarah. His life as he knows it is falling apart as he learns more about Sarah and her little secret. But what happened to her while she was on a cruise ship?

There are several stories told in this book. First I did not know how they were connected. Then I got an idea. But I was wrong. It was even better than I thought. I won’t say much more about the story because I would spoil it. But it is full of unexpected development you can hardly see coming. I would not call it twists, but a lot of things are a real surprise. Here is nothing like you thought it would be when you start reading. It is a very gripping story in an unusual setting: a cruise ship. I read the second half of this book in one setting because I could not put it down. If you love unique psychological thrillers you should give this one a try. I will keep an eye on this author. I really enjoyed reading this book.

I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

Original post:
coriander.booklikes.com/post/1465296/post

Kommentar verfassen

