Sharon Bolton – Daisy in Chains

Rezension:

Daisy in Chains - Sharon Bolton

Sharon Bolton never disappoints me. Sometimes I wonder if she is really just one person. Her books are so different. There is the Lacy-Flint-Series, and then her stand-alones. But the last stand-alone “Little Black Lies” is so different from this one.

I almost read this book in one sitting. If I have could. So I read the first half in one sitting and for the next 2 days I was eager to read the rest. This is the hell of a thriller. From the first page I was hooked.

I should not tell too much about the story. Just explore it for yourself. I was fascinated by the character Maggie Rose. Even Bolton is joining with this book the twist-at-the-end club, it was a great read. And I did not see this end coming.

The blue haired and enigmatic Maggie Rose is not very much interested when the charismatic and handsome Hamish Wolfe, who was send to prison for the murder of 3 or maybe 4 women, wants her as his lawyer because she has a reputation to see into cases and find the weak spot. But somehow it got her interested and she begins to question the verdict. She becomes a kind of friends with the detective who put Hamish down, Pete Weston. Hamish has his own fan base who wants him to be set free. And somehow Maggie becomes drawn into this case.

Some of the narrative is told in form of emails, letters, articles etc. The writing is exceptional; you just can read smoothly through the book. There are some hints in the book so that you can question what you are reading. But I never saw that ending coming. Not in this way. It is the kind of ending where you say, wow, I should read this again right now with this knowledge. I was absolutely blown away.

Every time I think Sharon Bolton could not get better, well, she does. I absolutely loved this book. If you love dark psychological thrillers just go and get this one.

A special thank you to NetGalley for sending me a copy in return for an honest review

Original post:
coriander.booklikes.com/post/1406886/sharon-bolton-daisy-in-chains

Kommentar verfassen

